Vulcan Drifter Riders

  • June 24, 2018, 17:16:31 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

If you use HOTMAIL and some other email providers, you may not get notifications and registration emails. Let me know if you register and didn't get confirmation.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Loose header on Vance & Hines Longshots  (Read 195 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

indue

  • Rider
  • *
  • Posts: 65
  • I ride a : Drifter 1500
  • Plus a: ----------
  • View Gallery
Loose header on Vance & Hines Longshots
« on: February 12, 2018, 08:57:24 AM »

I got tired of tightening the header flange nuts on the front header as it loosens up due to the long length of tubing that is unsupported until it reaches the near the rear wheel; I got an idea. The same problem existed on the early V7's and Ambassadors (Moto Guzzi) so they came up with a bracket that clamps to the frame and the header. I just happened to have a brand new one laying around so I attached it to the frame near the floorboard and it fits; you just have to use a longer screw of at least 45mm. Now it is not going anywhere. I also used 2 flange gaskets (Harley Davidson part #17048-98) in conjunction with the copper gasket (which fits inside the lip of the header). I used a little RTV silicone (let dry) to hold the gaskets in place because they are hard to fit when you are fumbling with the pipe. The clamps can be purchased from MG Cycle (Moto Guzzi). They are under "exhaust pipe clamps" in the search. They are more expensive than they used to be. The quality is good.
Logged


mittico68

  • Staff
  • ***
  • Posts: 887
  • I ride a : Drifter 800
  • Plus a: ----------
  • View Gallery
Re: Loose header on Vance & Hines Longshots
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2018, 09:35:53 AM »

Indue, you should already know the n.1 rule of this Forum: no pics = it didn't happen!  ;)
Logged
I love my swingin' bike!

indue

  • Rider
  • *
  • Posts: 65
  • I ride a : Drifter 1500
  • Plus a: ----------
  • View Gallery
Re: Loose header on Vance & Hines Longshots
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2018, 12:30:06 PM »

The problem with pics is that it is really hard to see. I was thinking about them...
Logged

indue

  • Rider
  • *
  • Posts: 65
  • I ride a : Drifter 1500
  • Plus a: ----------
  • View Gallery
Re: Loose header on Vance & Hines Longshots
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2018, 12:36:22 PM »

On second thought...
Logged

jmbo

  • Drifter Only
  • *
  • Posts: 579
  • I ride a : Drifter 1500
  • Plus a: Triumph
  • View Gallery
Re: Loose header on Vance & Hines Longshots
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2018, 14:58:19 PM »

Looks good.  I had a similar problem on my Road House pipes.  They were originally for a Vulcan Voyager so I had to make my own brackets.  Mine needed a bracket up front for both the pipe and an extra heat shield pad since the pipe came too close to the running board.  Mine have the old flex pip covers.  Love the look.
Logged
Jimb

indue

  • Rider
  • *
  • Posts: 65
  • I ride a : Drifter 1500
  • Plus a: ----------
  • View Gallery
Re: Loose header on Vance & Hines Longshots
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2018, 17:30:34 PM »

 I Iove that look too...
Logged

greenbarn

  • Life Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 4194
  • I ride a : Drifter 800
  • Plus a: Drifter 1500
  • VDR#: 1023
  • VDR#1023
  • View Gallery
Re: Loose header on Vance & Hines Longshots
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2018, 11:44:13 AM »

Indue that looks really good - is the bracket SS or chrome?  looks like an easy fix for a plaguing problem.  It's always good to have people on here with other experiences from other bikes they can bring in good ideas.
Logged
No Worries

drifter-paul

  • Supporting Member
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • I ride a : Drifter 1500
  • Plus a: ----------
  • View Gallery
Re: Loose header on Vance & Hines Longshots
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2018, 03:15:56 AM »

Indue,

Have I missed something? Is that bracket rubber mounted ?

My engine is rubber mounted 18' lbs, and the exhaust is rubber mounted at the connection to the footrest.

Paul ???
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 


ADVERTISE YOUR PRODUCT OR SERVICE HERE!