New Member.

Started by DLC433, January 25, 2015, 18:36:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kwik63

I purchased a shop manual on ebay.   I have drag raced cars for years and consider myself a good shade tree wrench.  I have zero motorcycle experience other than a Honda 4 wheeler I use at the track.  The local Kawasaki dealer gave me a reasonable quote on a full service and fluid change.  The bike has only 9300 miles but is 15 years old.  Looking forward to enjoying riding and learning more about my Drifter.  Any help appreciated.

Snake

Welcome; I can remember the first time I seen a Drifter and then I was hooked. It took me 5 months before I found one in Minnesota and drove 350 miles to get it. Enjoy the forum because the people are as good as a shop manual.

moosewing3

pcarrell

Welcome to the forum!

One thing you might want to do is to photograph that bike to death for others to use as a reference.  There aren't many low mileage early examples out there any more.

kwik63

Thanks for having me.  I plan to take a rider course.  I found this bike by accident looking for a birthday gift for my brother who has a 1947 Chief.  My Dad bought it for him in 1955 to ride to college.   He had it rebuilt a few months ago

CDNRatMan

Welcome, John, you need to change your name, we have too many Johns here...lol....

As Troll suggests take the MSF if this is your first bike, you will learn a lot and have fun doing it. Congrats on retirement I'll be joining you in Mar. and I too am looking so forward to the Spring.

GPS is not to get you THERE but rather to get you home from THERE

Troll

Before you venture out on what is an irreplaceable motorcycle, take an MSF riding class.....

Recovering H-D owner...W-650 Cafe' No excuses...Ride it or sell it to someone who will!

kwik63